FOOD2020 II

Future offensive for the food industry

In April 2018, the INTERREG/EDR Steering Committee approved the second phase of the project, which was initiated by the Deutsches Institut für Lebensmitteltechnik e.V. (DIL) from Quakenbrück with a budget of 4.4 million euros. The project includes various funding opportunities for companies and associations in the border area. GIQS is one of seven regional project partners of the DIL and responsible for the region North Rhine-Westphalia.

With FOOD2020, the food industry in the German-Dutch border region is to be made fit for 2020. The activities of FOOD2020 specifically aim at cross-border cooperation of companies with experts and business-oriented research institutions to stimulate technology transfer and innovation development in the companies. It is the aim of FOOD2020 Phase II to react together with the companies to the existing and new social and societal challenges of the sector. Topics to be addressed are “food security”, “sustainable food”, “food safety”, “healthy food” and “social innovation”.

In FOOD2020 Phase II the successful activities from FOOD2020 Phase I will be continued. In particular, the positive results from the innovation projects on product and process innovation and sustainability have shown that positive impulses help SMEs to achieve outstanding and forward-looking results. Successful feasibility studies from Phase I provide ideas for new innovation projects in Phase II.

Further information can be found on the projekt website and the social media profiles of FOOD2020 on Twitter, Youtube, LinkedIn and Xing.

Innovation projects and accompanying measures

Due to the successes in FOOD2020 Phase I and the manifold ideas of the SMEs from the product region, the main focus in FOOD2020 Phase II will be on innovation projects: It is planned to carry out five cross-border innovation projects (each with a budget of around 270,000 euros) and 14 light innovation projects (each with a budget of around 135,000 euros). The SMEs in the project region will receive 50% funding, while research institutions can expect a higher funding rate.

In addition to the innovation projects, there will again be accompanying measures. On the one hand, there will be seminars and events for further and advanced training and to secure young talents, in which information on current and relevant topics in the industry will be conveyed. On the other hand, accompanying measures are planned in which the focus is not only to be on the pure passing on of information on new technologies and new approaches to solutions for existing and future challenges. Thematic think tanks will be established, working in small groups over several sessions. Creative formats will be used to develop new concepts, business cases and solutions to problems within the framework of social challenges that companies can implement in their operations. Participating SMEs from the project region will receive financial support for participating in the interactive workshops.

Ten specialist seminars with an average of at least ten participants and at least seven participating companies and ten think tanks with an average of four participating companies are planned.

Innovation projects (co-)supported by GIQS

Flambéing is a masterpiece of food preparation by caramelizing the grilled food. Flambéing in its simplest form involves pouring high-proof or pure alcohol over the food to be flambéed and igniting it using a source of ignition. The alcohol, which has previously spread on the surface of the food to be flamed, ignites and burns off with a comparatively cool flame. The disadvantage of this method is that it is a source of danger for deflagration and neither the alcohol, its dosage nor the spread of the flames can be precisely controlled, so that the procedure requires a lot of practice and experience.

The aim of the Burning Bernd project is to produce a combustible ketchup that can be caramelised and dosed directly from the bottle using a two-chamber system. In this way, the taste of the grilled product can be increased and the risk of accidents can be reduced significantly.

GIQS is the leading FOOD2020 regional partner in this project.

Term: 11/2018 – 07/2020

Partners (co-)supported by GIQS: Robert Meyer Catering GmbH (Gronau); Smart Material Printing B.V. (Glanerbrug)

In the Cook.3D project, a “kitchen robot” is to be developed which, in addition to the individualised additive fabrication (colloquially 3D printing) of pasty food, also takes over its preparation. At present, this is a two-step process, and even the first step is often insufficiently successful for individual foods. By mathematical modelling of the pasty substance and the iterative and interactive, software-controlled feedback of sensor data, a new quality and generalisable application to any pasty substance shall be achieved. For this purpose, the parameters viscosity, pressure, temperature, printing speed, nozzle diameter and geometry, layer height and pressure path are included in the mathematical modeling and software control.

The result will be a prototype of a kitchen robot with integrated 3D printing process for the automatic creation of individualized food products.

GIQS is the leading FOOD2020 regional partner in this project.

Term: 11/2018 – 08/2020

Partners (co-)supported by GIQS: University of Applied Sciences Ruhr West (Bottrop), VormVrij.3D (Afferden), EAS GmbH (Rheinberg), Progress Events (Groningen)

In Germany and the Netherlands, 6 percent of the population suffer from food allergies and 50 percent of these suffer from fruit allergies – and the trend is rising among young people. So far, apart from the consumption of old varieties or complete abstinence, desensitization alone has been successful with varying degrees of success. For those affected, the current situation is often associated with significant losses in terms of quality of life and healthy nutrition.

For this reason, the AllerGoFree project aims to develop a method for reducing allergens in fruits. The core of the process is a printing process for treating fruit with carbon dioxide. The enrichment of the fruits with gaseous carbon dioxide leads to the hydrolysis of the allergens, as they are water soluble. As a side effect, the fruits become sweeter.

GIQS is the leading FOOD2020 regional partner in this project.

Term: 11/2018 – 07/2020

Partners (co-)supported by GIQS: Smart Material Printing B.V. (Glanerbrug), Hautärztliche Gemeinschaftspraxis Petri/Möcklinghoff (Ahaus), TM Bolz GmbH (Gronau)

The project aims to implement a new method for the local production of natural flavourings from food industry by-products.

A source of natural carboxylic acid from a food industry by-product stream and a natural source of selected alcohol have been identified. These two raw materials will be combined with a special technology, by using which a known natural flavouring substance can be produced in a sustainable process. In this way, the principles of recycling management can be implemented and CO2 emissions reduced.

In the project Circular Flavours the technology will be scaled up and samples will be produced which can be tested for purity, natural origin and market applications. The final goal of the project is to validate the calculated market price and the purity of the produced flavours.

GIQS is one of two supporting FOOD2020 regional partners in this project.

Term: 07/2019 – 09/2020

Partners supported by GIQS: Axxence Aromatic GmbH (Emmerich)

There are thousands of varieties of seed for every crop and countless differently structured farms. One in four harvests is either poorer or fails. There are simply too many parameters that determine success. This problem is to be addressed in the project. The aim is to select the optimal seed for farms, minimise the amount of resources and work required and maximise yield. The aim is to increase sales by 25 percent; this means that an average farm can expect additional sales of around 100,000 euros per harvest and at the same time operate more sustainably.

The first goal is to gather all relevant data. Sensors will be used to measure 20 different environmental parameters and detailed agricultural information will be collected using questionnaires, photos, local weather/forecast data, geolocalisation and horticultural data on individual crops. These data are then analysed to create AI models. These models will be used to select the best seeds for each farm and provide each farmer with personalised supply recommendations in real time via a mobile app.

GIQS is one of three supporting FOOD2020 regional partners in this project.

Term: 04/2019 – 09/2020

Partners supported by GIQS: ISIS IC GmbH (Wesel)

The quality of wine is largely determined during the fermentation process in cisterns or autoclaves. The process should be closely monitored to control the quality and identify any corrective action that may be required. Information that needs to be collected relates to the fermentation process, which must provide a good indication of the final product. The corresponding measurements are usually carried out in the laboratory, with possible manual errors and considerable time delays. This is an ineffective procedure that reduces the overall quality of the product, can lead to considerable losses, prolongs the time to market and places a severe constraint on the way the end customer is treated.

A much better solution would be to provide real-time measurements of the sensitive parameters that predict the evolution of the winemaking process and consequently improve the quality of the final product by minimizing costs and reducing the risk of losing part of the production. Such a system will be developed within the project. The objective of this innovation project is to develop and demonstrate a prototype of a monitoring platform for controlling the fermentation process of wine.

GIQS is one of three supporting FOOD2020 regional partners in this project.

Term: 10/2018 – 07/2020

Partners supported by GIQS: ISIS IC GmbH (Wesel)

Project partners

The two-and-a-half-year project is coordinated by the DIL and carried out jointly with seven partners from the German-Dutch border region. Partners on the German side are FPI (Food Processing Initiative e.V.) and GIQS. In the Netherlands, the business development agencies N.V. NOM (Investerings- en ontwikkelingsmaatschappij voor Noord-Nederland), TCNN (TechnologieCentrum Noord-Nederland), Oost NL (Ontwikkelingsmaatschappij Oost Nederland), LIOF (Limburgse Ontwikkelings- en Investeringsmaatschappij) and BOM (Brabantse Ontwikkelings Maatschappij) are involved in the project.

Funders

FOOD2020 is implemented within the INTERREG programme Deutschland-Nederland and is co-financed by the European Union, the Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Innovation, Digitalisierung und Energie of North Rhine-Westphalia, the Ministerium für Bundes- und Europaangelegenheiten und Regionale Entwicklung of Lower Saxony, the Dutch Ministerie van Economische Zaken en Klimaat and the provinces of Drenthe, Fryslân, Gelderland, Groningen, Limburg, Noord-Brabant and Overijssel. It is supported by the programme management of the Ems Dollart Region.

  • Funding programme: INTERREG V A
  • Term: 07/18 - 12/20
  • Budget: 4.4 MM Euro
  • Partners: GIQS + 7

FOOD2020 II

Zukunftsoffensive Lebensmittelwirtschaft

Im April 2018 hat der Lenkungsausschuss INTERREG/EDR die zweite Phase des vom Deutschen Institut für Lebensmitteltechnik e.V. (DIL) aus Quakenbrück initiierten Projekt FOOD2020 mit einem Budget von 4,4 Millionen Euro bewilligt. Das Projekt beinhaltet verschiedene Fördermöglichkeiten für Unternehmen und Verbände im Grenzgebiet. GIQS ist einer von sieben regionalen Projektpartnern des DIL und für die Region Nordrhein-Westfalen zuständig.

Mit FOOD2020 soll die Lebensmittelwirtschaft in der deutsch-niederländischen Grenzregion fit gemacht werden für 2020. Die Aktivitäten von FOOD2020 zielen ganz konkret ab auf die grenzüberschreitende Zusammenarbeit von Unternehmen mit Experten und wirtschaftsnahen Forschungseinrichtungen zur Stimulierung von Technologietransfer und Innovationsentwicklung in den Unternehmen. Es ist das Ziel von FOOD2020 Phase II, gemeinsam mit den Unternehmen auf die bestehenden und neuen sozialen und gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen der Branche zu reagieren. Themen, die bearbeitet werden sind »Ernährungssicherheit«, »Nachhaltige Lebensmittel«, »Lebensmittelsicherheit«, »Gesunde Lebensmittel« sowie »Soziale Innovation«.

In FOOD2020 Phase II sollen die erfolgreichen Aktivitäten aus FOOD2020 Phase I fortgeführt werden. Insbesondere die positiven Ergebnisse aus den Innovationsprojekten zu den Themen Produkt- und Prozessinnovation sowie Nachhaltigkeit haben gezeigt, dass positive Impulse KMU zu herausragenden und zukunftsweisenden Ergebnissen verhelfen. Erfolgreiche Machbarkeitsstudien aus der Phase I liefern in Phase II Ideen zu neuen Innovationsprojekten.

Weitere Informationen finden sich auf der Projektwebsite sowie den Social Media-Profilen von FOOD2020 auf Twitter, Youtube, LinkedIn und Xing.

Innovationsprojekte und Begleitmaßnahmen

Aufgrund der Erfolge in FOOD2020 Phase I und der vielfältigen Ideen der KMU aus der Produktregion wird in FOOD2020 Phase II ein Hauptaugenmerk auf Innovationsprojekte gelegt: Geplant ist die Durchführung von fünf grenzüberschreitenden Innovationsprojekten (jeweils rund 270.000 Euro Budget) und 14 Innovationsprojekten light (jeweils rund 135.000 Euro Budget). Die KMU der Projektregion werden mit 50 Prozent gefördert, Forschungseinrichtungen können mit einem höheren Fördersatz rechnen.

In Ergänzung zu den Innovationsprojekten wird es wieder begleitende Maßnahmen geben. Zum einen finden Seminare und Veranstaltungen zur Fort- und Weiterbildung und zur Sicherung von jungen Talenten statt, in denen Informationen über aktuelle und relevante Themen der Branche vermittelt werden. Zum anderen werden Begleitmaßnahmen geplant, bei denen der Fokus nicht nur auf der reinen Weitergabe von Informationen zu neuen Technologien und neuen Lösungsansätzen für bestehende und zukünftige Herausforderungen liegen soll. Es werden thematische Think Tanks etabliert, die in kleinen Gruppen über mehrere Sessions zusammenarbeiten. Mit kreativen Formaten werden neue Konzepte, Business Cases und Lösungsansätze zu Fragestellungen im Rahmen der gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen erarbeiten, die die Unternehmen in ihren Betrieben umsetzen können. Teilnehmende KMU aus der Projektregion sollen für die Teilnahme an den interaktiven Workshops finanzielle Unterstützung erhalten.

Geplant sind zehn Fachseminare mit durchschnittlich mindestens zehn Teilnehmern und mindestens sieben teilnehmenden Unternehmen und zehn Think Tanks mit durchschnittlich vier teilnehmenden Unternehmen.

Von GIQS (mit-)betreute Innovationsprojekte

Flambieren ist eine Meisterleistung der Essenszubereitung durch das Karamellisieren des Grillguts. Beim Flambieren in seiner einfachsten Form wird hochprozentiger oder reiner Alkohol über das Flambiergut gegossen und mithilfe einer Zündquelle entzündet. Der Alkohol, der sich zuvor auf der Oberfläche des Flambierguts verteilt hat, entzündet sich und brennt mit einer vergleichsweise kühlen Flamme ab. Nachteilig für dieses Verfahren ist, dass es eine Gefahrenquelle für Verpuffungen darstellt und weder der Alkohol, seine Dosierung noch die Ausbreitung der Flammen genau kontrolliert werden können, so dass das Verfahren daher viel Übung und Erfahrung erfordert.

Das Ziel des Projektes Burning Bernd ist die Herstellung eines brennbaren Ketchups, der karamellisiert und direkt aus der Flasche mittels eines Zweikammersystems dosiert werden kann. Hierdurch kann der Geschmack des Grillguts gesteigert und zugleich die Unfallgefahr deutlich gesenkt werden.

GIQS ist federführender FOOD2020-Regionalpartner in diesem Projekt.

Laufzeit: 11/2018 – 07/2020

Von GIQS (mit)betreute Partner: Robert Meyer Catering GmbH (Gronau); Smart Material Printing B.V. (Glanerbrug)

Im Projekt Cook.3D soll ein „Küchenroboter“ entwickelt werden, der neben der individualisierten additiven Fabrikation (umgangssprachlich 3D-Druck) von pastösen Lebensmitteln auch deren Zubereitung übernimmt. Derzeit sind dies zwei Prozessschritte, selbst der erste gelingt bisher oft noch unzureichend für einzelne Lebensmittel. Durch die mathematische Modellierung der pastösen Substanz und der iterativen und interaktiven, softwaregesteuerten Rückkopplung von Sensordaten soll eine neue Qualität und verallgemeinerbare Anwendung auf beliebige pastöse Substanzen erreicht werden. Zu diesem Zweck fließen unter anderem die Parameter Viskosität, Druck, Temperatur, Druckgeschwindigkeit, Düsendurchmesser und Geometrie, Layerhöhe und Druckpfad in die mathematische Modellierung und Softwaresteuerung ein.

Ergebnis wird ein Prototyp eines Küchenroboters mit integriertem 3D-Druckprozess zur automatischen Erstellung individualisierter Lebensmittel sein.

GIQS ist federführender FOOD2020-Regionalpartner in diesem Projekt.

Laufzeit: 11/2018 – 08/2020

Von GIQS (mit)betreute Partner: Hochschule Ruhr West (Bottrop), VormVrij.3D (Afferden), EAS GmbH (Rheinberg), Progress Events (Groningen)

In Deutschland und den Niederlanden leiden 6 Prozent der Bevölkerung an Nahrungsmittelallergien und hiervon 50 Prozent an Obstallergien – bei jungen Leuten ist die Tendenz steigend. Bislang gibt es außer dem Verzehr alter Sorten oder dem kompletten Verzicht allein die Desensibilisierung mit unterschiedlichem Erfolg. Für Betroffene ist die aktuelle Situation häufig mit deutlichen Einbußen hinsichtlich Lebensqualität und gesunder Ernährung verbunden.

Deshalb soll im Projekt AllerGoFree ein Verfahrens zur Allergenminderung in Früchten entwickelt werden. Kern des Verfahrens ist ein Druckverfahren zur Behandlung von Früchten mit Kohlensäure. Die Anreicherung der Früchte mit gasförmigem Kohlendioxid führt zur Hydrolyse der Allergene, da diese wasserlöslich sind. Als Nebeneffekt werden die Früchte süßer.

GIQS ist federführender FOOD2020-Regionalpartner in diesem Projekt.

Laufzeit: 11/2018 – 07/2020

Von GIQS (mit)betreute Partner: Smart Material Printing B.V. (Glanerbrug), Hautärztliche Gemeinschaftspraxis Petri/Möcklinghoff (Ahaus), TM Bolz GmbH (Gronau)

Das Projekt zielt auf die Umsetzung einer neuen Methode zur lokalen Herstellung natürlicher Aromen aus Nebenströmen der Lebensmittelindustrie ab.

Es wurde eine Quelle für die natürliche Carbonsäure aus einem Nebenstrom der Lebensmittelindustrie sowie eine natürliche Quelle für ausgewählten Alkohol identifiziert. Diese beiden Rohstoffe werden mit einer speziellen Technologie kombiniert, durch deren Einsatz ein bekannter natürlicher Aromastoff in einem nachhaltigen Prozess hergestellt werden kann. Die Prinzipien der Kreislaufwirtschaft können so umsetzt und die CO2-Emissionen reduziert werden.

Im Projekt Circular Flavours soll die Technologie skaliert und es sollen Proben herstellt werden, die auf Reinheit, natürlichen Ursprung und Marktanwendungen getestet werden können. Das Endziel des Projekts ist die Validierung des berechneten Marktpreises und der Reinheit der produzierten Aromen.

GIQS ist einer von zwei betreuenden FOOD2020-Regionalpartner in diesem Projekt.

Laufzeit: 07/2019 – 09/2020

Von GIQS betreute Partner: Axxence Aromatic GmbH (Emmerich)

Es gibt tausende Sorten Saatgut für jede Kulturpflanze und zahllose unterschiedlich strukturierte Landwirtschaftsbetriebe. Eine von vier Ernten fällt geringer aus oder misslingt. Es gibt einfach zu viele Parameter, die über den Erfolg entscheiden. Dieses Problem soll im Projekt angegangen werden. Es soll das optimale Saatgut für Landwirtschaftsbetriebe ausgewählt, die Menge an eingesetzten Mitteln und verrichteter Arbeit minimiert und den Ertrag maximiert werden. Ziel ist eine Umsatzsteigerung von 25 Prozent; das heißt, dass ein durchschnittlicher Betrieb pro Ernte mit einem zusätzlichen Umsatz von etwa 100.000 Euro rechnen kann und gleichzeitig nachhaltiger wirtschaftet.

Das erste Ziel besteht darin, sämtliche relevanten Daten zusammenzutragen. Es werden Sensoren zur Messung von 20 verschiedenen Umgebungsparametern eingesetzt und detaillierte landwirtschaftliche Informationen anhand von Fragebögen, Fotos, Daten zur lokalen Witterung/zu Vorhersagen, Geolokalisierung sowie Gartenbaudaten zu den einzelnen Kulturpflanzen erfasst. Anschließend werden diese Daten analysiert und damit KI-Modelle erstellt. Anhand dieser Modelle soll das beste Saatgut für den jeweiligen Landwirtschaftsbetrieb ausgewählt und jedem Landwirt über eine Mobil-App in Echtzeit personalisierte Versorgungsempfehlungen gegeben werden.

GIQS ist einer von drei betreuenden FOOD2020-Regionalpartner in diesem Projekt.

Laufzeit: 04/2019 – 09/2020

Von GIQS betreute Partner: ISIS IC GmbH (Wesel)

Die Qualität von Wein wird weitgehend während des Gärungsprozesses in Zisternen oder Autoklaven bestimmt. Der Prozess sollte streng überwacht werden, um die Qualität zu kontrollieren und eventuelle Korrekturmaßnahmen zu ermitteln. Informationen, die gesammelt werden müssen, beziehen sich auf die Gärung, die einen guten Hinweis auf das Endprodukt liefern muss. Die entsprechenden Messungen werden in der Regel im Labor durchgeführt, mit möglichen manuellen Fehlern und erheblichen Zeitverzögerungen. Dies ist ein uneffektives Verfahren, das die Gesamtqualität des Produkts verringert, zu erheblichen Verlusten führen kann, die Zeit bis zur Markteinführung verlängert und eine starke Einschränkung im Umgang mit dem Endkunden mit sich bringt.

Eine viel bessere Lösung wäre die Bereitstellung von Echtzeit-Messungen der sensiblen Parameter, die die Entwicklung des Weinherstellungsprozesses vorhersagen und folglich die Qualität des Endprodukts durch Minimierung der Kosten und Verringerung des Risikos, einen Teil der Produktion zu verlieren, verbessern würden. Ein solches System soll innerhalb des Projekts entwickelt werden. Das Ziel dieses Innovationsprojekts ist die Entwicklung und Demonstration eines Prototyps einer Überwachungsplattform zur Kontrolle des Gärungsprozesses von Wein.

GIQS ist einer von drei betreuenden FOOD2020-Regionalpartner in diesem Projekt.

Laufzeit: 10/2018 – 07/2020

Von GIQS betreute Partner: ISIS IC GmbH (Wesel)

Projektpartner

Das auf zweieinhalb Jahre ausgelegte Projekt wird vom DIL koordiniert und gemeinsam mit sieben Partnern aus der deutsch-niederländischen Grenzregion durchgeführt. Partner auf deutscher Seite sind FPI (Food Processing Initiative e.V.) und GIQS. In den Niederlanden sind die Wirtschaftsförderungsgesellschaften N.V. NOM (Investerings- en ontwikkelingsmaatschappij voor Noord-Nederland), TCNN (TechnologieCentrum Noord-Nederland), Oost NL (Ontwikkelingsmaatschappij Oost Nederland), LIOF (Limburgse Ontwikkelings- en Investeringsmaatschappij) sowie BOM (Brabantse Ontwikkelings Maatschappij) in das Projekt eingebunden.

Geldgeber

FOOD2020 Phase II wird im Rahmen des INTERREG V A-Programms Deutschland-Nederland mit Mitteln des Europäischen Fonds für Regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) und dem niedersächsischen Ministerium für Bundes- und Europaangelegenheiten und regionale Entwicklung, dem nordrhein-westfälischen Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Innovation, Digitalisierung und Energie, dem niederländischen Ministerie van Economische Zaken en Klimaat sowie der niederländischen Provinzen Drenthe, Fryslân, Gelderland, Groningen, Limburg, Noord-Brabant und Overijssel kofinanziert. Es wird durch das Programmmanagement bei der Ems Dollart Region begleitet.

  • Förderprogramm: INTERREG V A
  • Laufzeit: 07/18 - 12/20
  • Budget: 4,4 Mio. Euro
  • Partner: GIQS + 7